Clan Binning History
West Lothian’s history is truly fascinating, from Clan history to Royal births we are going to cover it all in our frequent “West Lothian history & heritage” updates. Keep your eye out for our history and heritage posts to learn more about the wonderful area of West Lothian.
The story of the Binning Clan stretches back through time to the Viking settlers who settled here in the wonderful land of Scotland. The name can also be found as Binnie and Binney and originates in the parish of Uphall, West Lothian where the Barony of Binning was located.
William de Binnin who was prior of Newbattle was promoted to Crail in 1243.
John de Bynning was enfeoffed in some lands in Edinburgh which had been forfeited by John Slingisbie in the reign of David II.
Friar John Benyng was governor of the lands and possessions of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem at Torphichen in 1388.
Symon de Bynninge who was bailie of Aberdeen (1396 – 98) is probably the same Symon Benyn selected to be one of the company accompanying the provost of Aberdeen to the battle of Harlaw in 1411.
John de Benyne was a canon regular of Cambuskenneth Abbey in 1403.
Crest: A demi horse furnished for a waggon, Proper
Motto: Christo Duce Feliciter (Happily, under the guidance of Christ)
Historic Seat: Binning, in the parish of Uphall, West Lothian
Clan Chief: None, armigerous clan
Find out more about this Clan here!